Asian American Engineer of the Year Awards
Distinguished Science & Technology Award


Dr. Shing-Tung Yau
William Caspar Graustein
Professor of Mathematics
Chairman of the Mathematics Department
Harvard University.


Prof. Shing-Tung Yau was born April 4, 1949 in China. When he was fourteen, he moved to Hong Kong with his family where, after graduating from Pui Ching Middle School, he studied mathematics at The Chinese University of Hong Kong from 1966 to 1969. He undertook graduate studies at the University of California, Berkeley, where his advisor was Shiing-Shen Chern. He received his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley in 1971. Afterwards, he spent a post-doctoral year at the Institute for Advanced Study and then another two years as an assistant professor at the State University of New York at Stony Brook.

Prof. Yau is an eminent Chinese American mathematician. He has made fundamental contributions to differential geometry which have uncovered deep intrinsic geometric structures in an astonishingly wide range of scientific disciplines like differential geometry, algebraic geometry, topology, partial Differential equations, general relativity and string theory. In 1976 he proved Calabi's conjecture on a class of manifolds now named Calabi-Yau manifolds, which has now become the geometric ground where physicists build their string theory.

His revolutionary use of the methods of partial differential equations in the area of differential geometry has had a lasting impact on geometry. Prof. Yau is renowned as an energetic teacher and educator. He has advised more than 50 Ph.D. students, with many of them prominent mathematicians. Meanwhile, Prof. Yau has received a number of awards. These include the Oswald Veblen Prize in Geometry (1981); the John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science of the National Academy of Sciences (1981); the Fields Medal in 1982, the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Fellowship (1985); the Humboldt Research Award (1991); the Crafoord Prize of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (1994); the (U.S.) National Medal of Science in 1997; and the International Scientific and Technological Cooperation Award of China (2003).

Prof. Yau is currently the William Caspar Graustein Professor of Mathematics and the Chairman of the Mathematics Department at Harvard University. He is also the Director of The Institute of Mathematical Sciences at The Chinese University of Hong Kong in Hong Kong, the Morningside Center of Mathematics at Academia Sinica in China, the Centre of Mathematical Sciences at the Zhejiang University in China, and the Tsinghua Mathematical Sciences Center in China. He is a Foreign Member of the National Academy of Lincei, Italy, the Russian Academy of Sciences, and the Chinese Academy of Sciences. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Academy of Arts and Sciences. Prof. Yau is one of the most respected mathematicians in the world. He received 10 honorary degrees from top universities around the world, including Harvard, National Taiwan University, Zhejiang University, and The Chinese University of Hong Kong, for his seminal contributions in differential geometry, differential equations and general relativity.

Moreover, Prof. Yau is the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Differential Geometry (1980–present), Advances in Theoretical Mathematics and Physics (1997–present), Dynamics of Partial Differential Equations (2004–present), Communications in Number Theory and Physics (2007–present), and the Asian Journal of Mathematics (1997–present).